Date:24th January 2012 at 3:05am
Written by:

Serie A’s annual Oscar del Calcio awards were held on Monday evening in Milan with the current Scudetto holders the big winners on the night.

With Italy’s player of the year awards now in their fifteenth year it was AC Milan who scooped five awards with Zlatan Ibrahimovic earning Best Foreign Player and then Best Player, a category that is decided between the winners of Best Italian and Best Foreigner.

Massimiliano Allegri was named Best Coach ahead of Francesco Guidolin and Walter Mazzarri. While Stephan El Shaarawy was awarded the Best Serie B Player of 2011 following his exploits with Padova.

Meanwhile, Fabio Cannavaro and Alessandro Del Piero received lifetime achievement awards, and Fabio Capello was presented with a special Critics Award.

Oscar del Calcio full winners list

Best Coach: Massimiliano Allegri – Runners up: Francesco Guidolin, Walter Mazzarri

Best Goalkeeper: Samir Handanovic – Runners up: Christian Abbiati, Morgan De Sanctis

Best Defender: Thiago Silva – Runners up: Andrea Barzagli, Mehdi Benatia

Best Foreigner: Zlatan Ibrahimovic – Runners up: Edinson Cavani, Samuel Eto’o

Best Italian:  Antonio Di Natale –  Runners up: Claudio Marchisio, Andrea Pirlo

Best Player: Zlatan Ibrahimovic

Best Referee: Nicola Rizzoli – Runners up: Paolo Tagliavento, Paolo Valeri

Best Club: Udinese

Most Points: Milan (80)

Highest Goalscorer: Edinson Cavani (28)

Team of the Year: Handanovic; Maggio, Thiago Silva, Nesta (tied withRanocchia), Armero; Hamsik, Boateng, Thiago Motta (tied with Marchisio); Ibrahimovic, Cavani, Di Natale.

To get your hands on a classic AC Milan, Inter or Juventus jersey just visit right here.

Join Forza Italian Football on Twitter and Facebook.

We are always looking for new writers, so if you think you know Calcio, email us: