Jurgen Klinsmann Names 23 Man USA Squad For World Cup 2014

Date: 3rd June 2014 at 11:13pm
Written by:

Jurgen Klinsmann submitted his United States 23-man squad for the 2014 World Cup.

The biggest omission from the squad is Los Angeles Galaxy’s Landon Donovan, who scored the U.S.’s go-ahead goal against Algeria in the 2010 World Cup that helped the Yanks advanced from the group.

Klinsmann also chose to leave behind Maurice Edu, who started two matches in the 2010 World Cup, and Clarence Goodson, who started eight of the squad’s ten World Cup qualifiers this campaign.

The United States squad has a total of five players who have played in a World Cup finals match.

Instead, the coach is bringing a number of players who are untested at this level. Excluding DaMarcus Beasley, for example, the U.S. defenders only average 15 international caps each.

The squad does have players who are viewed as rising stars internationally, including Bayern Munich’s Julian Green, AZ Alkmaar’s Aron Johannsson and Hertha Berlin’s John Brooks.

Here are the final 23 players:

Keepers: Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Defenders: DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Timmy Chandler (Nurnberg), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Monchengladbach), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders)

Midfielders: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg), Julian Green (Bayern Munich), Jermaine Jones (Besiktas), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

Forwards: Jozy Altidore (Sunderland), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)


Comments are closed.