Napoli Talent Takes African Footballer Of The Year Honour

Date: 11th December 2023 at 11:30pm
Written by:

Having enjoyed a very good few years at Napoli, Nigerian striker Victor Osimhen, has more than seen his stock rise in the top European leagues, and the 24 year old player has now gained more headlines after being crowned the 2023 African Footballer of the Year at the Confederation of African Football (Caf) awards ceremony.

It took place in Marrakesh this year and Osimhen beat off competition from Egypt’s Mohamed Salah and Morocco’s Achraf Hakimi to lift the title, and become the first Nigerian winner since Nwankwo Kanu way back in 1999.

Nigeria itself enjoyed a double success as Asisat Oshoala retained the women’s award – marking her six accolade success.

Osimhen was, of course, highly backed to win the prestigious award for the first time this year following on from his incredible success and performance levels in the 2022/23 campaign. As fans will know, he scored 26 times in 32 appearances for the Serie A side as the I Partenopei, including the all important and decisive goal that sealed the Scudetto for them in May – their first domestic title in the last 33 years.

Earlier this month, the Lagos born, former Wolfsburg and Lille striker, was also named the Italian Footballers’ Association Player of the Year after an outstanding season, and he also scored five goals in four Africa Cup of Nations qualification matches, as he helped his country reach next year’s finals.

It is no wonder clubs around the major leagues are reportedly keeping a very keen eye on developments at Napoli, as he also recently became the first Nigerian to finish in the top 10 of the recent Ballon d’Or – coming in at eighth place – and he has now been made a Member of the Federal Republic in his homeland given all of his recent successes.

A full list of all of the 2023 winners on the night:

Player of the Year (men): Victor Osimhen (Napoli & Nigeria)
Player of the Year (women): Asisat Oshoala (Barcelona & Nigeria)
Coach of the Year (men): Walid Regragui (Morocco)
Coach of the Year (women): Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
National Team of the Year (men): Morocco
National Team of the Year (women): Nigeria
Goalkeeper of the Year (men): Yassine Bounou (Al Hilal & Morocco)
Goalkeeper of the Year (women): Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC & Nigeria)
Young Player of the Year (women): Nesryne El Chad (Lille & Morocco)
Young Player of the Year (men): Lamine Camara (Metz & Senegal)
Club of the Year (women): Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)
Club of the Year (men): Al Ahly (Egypt)
Interclub Player of the Year (women): Fatima Tagnaout (AS FAR & Morocco)
Interclub Player of the Year (men): Percy Tau (Al Ahly & South Africa)

Serie A fans, particularly those of a Napoli persuasion, will simply have to see what the future holds for the incredibly talented attacker, he may be too rich for most when the transfer window opens again in January, but next summer could be a different question.


Comments are closed.